Our Board


Dr Alison Edwards: GP, Port Broughton since 1994. Current member of Port Broughton and District Hospital and Health Services Health Advisory Council. Previously on the Board of Rural Doctors' Workforce Agency, executive committee of Rural Doctors' Association SA, branch council of AMA (SA) and local, state and federal GP Division boards. Founding Chair of Country North SA Medicare Local Board. Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Mr John Curnow: is a graduate of the Macquarie University’s School of Logistic Management and has held a number of senior executive roles in various companies, including Coca-Cola Amatil, where he served as Managing Director in their Hungarian and New Zealand operations. He has served on company Boards in various countries such as Austria, Hungary, New Zealand and Australia, and served on health Boards such as Country North SA Medicare Local, and currently as Chair of Finance of Country SA PHN. He was co-founder and owner (with his wife Suzanne) of 1847 Wines, a Barossa Winery with fine wine focus exporting to 11 overseas countries. That business was sold to overseas interest in 2011. John still maintains vineyard interests in the Barossa Valley in addition to his Board involvement.
John has consulted on marketing and strategic leadership for various organisations and has presented on these topics at a number of forums including the Australian GP Network National Conference. John is currently a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and serves as the Deputy Chairman of the Barossa Co-Op Stores.


Mr Wayne Oldfield: Aboriginal consumer representative to the National Mental Health Consumer and Carer Forum. Member of the consumer reference group for the National Mental Health Consumer Organisation Establishment Project. Past Director of the Aboriginal Health Council of SA, founding Director of Country North SA Medicare Local Board. Based in Moonta.


Dr Peter Rischbieth: GP, Murray Bridge since 1998, partner of the Bridge Clinic. Current president of the Rural Doctors' Association of South Australia. Actively involved in the teaching of medical students, interns and registrars, previous Chairman of the Hills Mallee Southern Clinical Privileging Committee.


Ms Kirsten Sargeson: Pharmacist in the Riverland since 1991. Experience in managing pharmacies and hospital pharmacy consulting services. Director of GB Fulwood & Co. (Horticultural production of Citrus and Grapes). Involved in implementation and execution of community health rehabilitation programs. Active volunteer involved in leadership of local sporting bodies and school governance.


Mr Kim Hosking: CEO of the Country SA PHN with a career long engagement in health related activities in rural areas. Extensive history of Board engagements with rural ambulance entities, hospitals and health services and Divisions of General Practice. Past CEO of Country North SA Medicare Local, Mid North Division of Rural Medicine, and past Director of the Country Services SA Ambulance Service.


Ms Lee Martinez: Lee is a Lecturer of Mental Health Academic and holds the Aboriginal Health portfolio with the Department of Rural Health (DRH). Lee provides leadership in rural mental health through research, education and establishing partnerships with mental health service providers, Aboriginal health, consumers and carers. Lee has worked as a rural health practitioner for the past 4 decades in areas of women’s health, Aboriginal health, youth health, aged care, acute care and more recently mental health as both a practitioner and service manager. Lee is involved in a number of networks and has been part of the Upper Eyre Local Health Cluster the Whyalla Suicide Prevention Network since its inception and has a passion for ensuring people in rural and remote areas equitable access to the quality services to meet their needs.

AMA(SA) Councillors | Australian Medical Association    

Dr Simon Lockwood: GP, Roxby Downs since 2000. Sits on the Council for the Australian Medical Association South Australia as a rural representative and as a representative for the AMA on the National Council of Rural Doctors. Simon is also actively involved in medical education as an educator for the University of Adelaide medical school, as an examiner for the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, a GP Clinical Editor for the Health Pathways South Australia program and member of the Rural Generalist Pathway Steering Committee SA Health.



Beckwith Park, 30 Tanunda Road Nuriootpa SA 5355
PO Box 868 Nuriootpa SA 5355
T 08 8565 8900 F 08 8311 1723
E This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.





While the Australian Government Department of Health has contributed to the funding of this website, the information on this website does not necessarily reflect the views of the Australian Government and is not advice that is provided, or information that is endorsed, by the Australian Government. The Australian Government is not responsible in negligence or otherwise for any injury, loss or damage however arising from the use of or reliance on the information provided on this website.

Country SA PHN gratefully acknowledge the financial and other support from the Australian Government Department of Health