Download as a PDF

13 July 2016

Preferred providers selected for delivery of primary mental health services

As part of Country SA PHN's objective to improve access to primary mental health services for rural South Australias, five preferred providers have been selected to deliver general mental health services to communities across the country region.

The successful organisations, which were selected following a competitive tender process, include:

  • Country and Outback Health - providing service to Yorke and Northern, Eyre and Flinders, Far West and Outback regions;
  • Murray Mallee General Practice Network - providing services to Murray Mallee region;
  • Northern Health Network - providing services to Barossa and Gawler regions;
  • Riverland Division of General Practice - providing services to Riverland and Limestone Coast regions; and
  • Summit Health - providing services to the Adelaide Hills and Fleurieu, and Kangaroo Island regions.

“A range of compelling and insightful proposals were put forward by a variety of organisations, which says a lot about the high level of passion and experience that exists within this sector, said Country SA PHN CEO Kim Hosking.

“We’d like to acknowledge all of the organisations which submitted tenders; it was certainly a tough selection process with high calibre applicants.

“We’re looking forward to working closely with the preferred providers to deliver efficient and effective primary mental health services across regional South Australia.”

Together with the selection of the five preferred providers, the team at Country SA PHN has also been undertaking significant work to expand and develop services across specialist areas of mental health, including suicide prevention and alcohol and other drugs.

“We’ve been able to form strong partnerships across the region to ensure the co-design of these specialist services utilises the expertise of key organisations within the alcohol and other drugs sector, suicide prevention and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander specific services,” Mr Hosking said.

“We have also been focused on supporting and, where possible, expanding the services offered by the four regional headspace sites at Mount Gambier, Murray Bridge, Berri and Port Augusta.”

Country SA PHN is responsible for commissioning Commonwealth directed funding for primary health services throughout regional South Australia. For more information please visit


Media enquiries:  Kristy Macfarland, Michels Warren PR on 0402 557 527


Beckwith Park, 30 Tanunda Road Nuriootpa SA 5355
PO Box 868 Nuriootpa SA 5355
T 08 8565 8900 F 08 8311 1723
E This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.





While the Australian Government Department of Health has contributed to the funding of this website, the information on this website does not necessarily reflect the views of the Australian Government and is not advice that is provided, or information that is endorsed, by the Australian Government. The Australian Government is not responsible in negligence or otherwise for any injury, loss or damage however arising from the use of or reliance on the information provided on this website.

Country SA PHN gratefully acknowledge the financial and other support from the Australian Government Department of Health